AL East Odds & Best Bets 2024

John Arlia
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2024

The American League East has had three different division champions over the past three seasons.

Last year, the Baltimore Orioles edged out the Tampa Bay Rays by two games to claim their first division title since 2014. However, both teams met the same fate in the postseason, getting swept by the eventual World Series champion Texas Rangers.

As we get set for the 2024 MLB season, let’s take a look at the latest AL East odds and pick out a division winner best bet.

AL East Winner Odds 2024

MLB odds used for these AL East best bets are from Tuesday, March 5, and courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook.

  • New York Yankees (+165)
  • Baltimore Orioles (+205)
  • Toronto Blue Jays (+400)
  • Tampa Bay Rays (+600)
  • Boston Red Sox (+1600)

AL East Winner Best Bet

New York Yankees (+165)

After missing the postseason for the first time since 2016, it’s no surprise that the Yankees had a busy offseason.

Trading for superstar slugger Juan Soto was the highlight, but New York also bolstered its lineup by acquiring Alex Verdugo from the Red Sox and adding veteran right-hander Marcus Stroman to its rotation.

Ace Gerritt Cole is coming off a Cy Young campaign, and he should have more help around him this year if Carlos Rodon and Nestor Cortes can stay healthy.

New York’s offense will also hope for better luck health-wise after Aaron Judge, Giancarlo Stanton, and Anthony Rizzo featured in 106 games or fewer last season. Given the talent on their roster, it’s no surprise that the Bronx Bombers are slight favorites over the Orioles.

[pick id="175281"]

AL East Winner Sleeper Pick

Tampa Bay Rays (+600)

If I’ve learned anything over the years, it’s that underestimating the low-budget Rays is a bad idea.

Tampa Bay has proven the ability to retool and maximize the talent on its roster time and time again. Plus, this team won 99 games last season, its third 95-plus-win season in the last five years.

The biggest concern here is the starting rotation, which is hampered by long-term injuries to Drew Rasmussen, Jeffrey Springs, and Shane McClanahan. However, at the fourth-lowest odds to win the division, the Rays are worth a small investment.

[pick id="175282"]

Past AL East Winners

2023: Baltimore Orioles

2022: New York Yankees

2021: Tampa Bay Rays

2020: Tampa Bay Rays

2019: New York Yankees

2018: Boston Red Sox

2017: Boston Red Sox

2016: Boston Red Sox

2015: Toronto Blue Jays

2014: Baltimore Orioles


John Arlia

Before joining The Game Day, John served as the National Writer for the United Soccer League, where he primarily covered the USL Championship out of the league’s headquarters in Tampa, FL. A devout soccer fan, John attended the men’s World Cups in Brazil and Russia and can’t wait for the 2026 edition to come to North America. Having also written for Sporting News Canada since getting his master’s from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at ASU, John has acquired a diverse sporting background, but considers football, golf, and soccer his three strong suits.

Related articles